When Are ACT Scores Released?

act scores released

The weeks between taking the ACT test and when your ACT scores are released can be nerve-wracking. So how long do you have to wait to learn your scores?

ACT scores are released on a regular schedule after every test date. How long it takes to receive your scores depends on when you took the test and if you took the Writing test. 

When are ACT Scores Released?

Multiple-choice scores are usually posted online in your ACT web account two to eight weeks after each national test date. 

Writing scores are usually available about two weeks after your multiple-choice scores. If you took the Writing test, your multiple-choice scores are not reported until your Writing scores have been added, so you can expect to wait four weeks for your ACT scores. 

The ACT releases scores at 12 AM Central Time (1 AM Eastern and 10 PM Pacific Time) on a given test’s score release date (usually a Tuesday or a Thursday), and weekly at 12 AM Central Time after the release date. 

October test-takers: Scores from the October test date take a bit longer to get to you due to equating. Equating procedures evaluate test scores to ensure that reported scores are constant across test forms. Expect to receive scores from the October test date 3-8 weeks after test day.   

ACT Score Release Dates:

Test DateScore Release Range
September 14, 2019September 24 – November 8, 2019
October 26, 2019November 12 – December 30, 2019
December 14, 2019December 26, 2019 – February 7, 2020
February 8, 2020February 25 – April 3, 2020
June 13, 2020June 23 – August 7, 2020
July 18, 2020July 28 – August 31, 2020

How to View Your ACT Scores

The best way to view your ACT scores: online! 

Check your online ACT web account on your score release day to see if your scores are posted. If you don’t see them, check back the next week. 

Ok, I Have My Scores. What Do They Tell Me?

There are a lot of numbers to wade through on your score report. Check out this post for more information about how to: 

  • Evaluate your composite and scaled scores
  • See how you compare to averages
  • Evaluate your detailed results
  • Make a study plan!

Understanding Your ACT Score Report

How Do I Improve My ACT Score?

Practice is the best way to improve your ACT score. But you don’t just need more practice – you need effective practice. 

With hundreds of practice questions and animated video explanations, Olive Book’s self-paced, online ACT study course is all you need to study for the ACT. And because it’s written by licensed teachers, professors, and ACT/SAT tutors, you can be confident that your practice will be effective. 

Enroll and start studying right away at olive-book.com.

Further reading:

How to Send Your ACT Score to Colleges
How is the ACT Scored?
Understanding Your ACT Score Report

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *